© 2019 5-6-7 OUI. 

judges

anais sekine.jpg

In the past few years, Anaïs has become a driving force in the Montreal Lindy hop scene. Her focus on improvisation and authentic self-expression has earned her the respect and recognition of the Lindy Hop community. First hooked by the rhythmic and playful language of tap dancing 10 years ago, she then fell in deep passion for Lindy hop. Endlessly in the process of exploring new ideas, she mostly focuses on broadening her understanding of the jazz language, tradition and cultural history. Anaïs is a member of the Northern Lights, and a founding member of the W Project and the Cat’s Club Chorus Line, two badass all-women authentic jazz troupes. With many titles to her name in solo, couple, and team divisions, she recently won the 2013 notorious New Orleans Showdown battle with Alain Fragman. She was one of the invited speakers at the Frankie100 Jazz Dance Research panel last May in New York City.  Anaïs teaches regularly at the Cat’s Corner Swing Dance School. Her pedagogic approach strives to awaken each dancer’s ability to find a full and unique presence. She devotes her academic research to studying the cultural politics of Lindy Hop today.  

Judge / Montréal

ANAIS SEKINE

Caitlin_edited.jpg

Caitlin was a founding member of Minnie’s Moochers - the innovative, multi-award winning teenage performance troupe from Ithaca, NY that helped redefine the modern era of Lindy Hop. Since debuting with the Moochers at the 1998 American Lindy Hop Championships, Caitlin has taught around the world and even made several notable television and print appearances, including an awards performance with Fall Out Boy. She has worked to blaze a trail of respect for female, headlining instructors. She is also a staunch advocate for mental health. Recently, Caitlin has branched out to lead her own Toronto-based band, The Sugar Foot Stompers. And two decades later, she remains in-demand as an instructor. With Caitlin, you may get a bunch of cool moves, but you can always count on articulate instruction, focus on solid technique based on momentum and rhythm, a musician’s focus on finding a deeper connection to the music, and fun and creative methods that will challenge and inspire you to improve every dance!

Judge / Toronto

CAITLIN WELLMAN

annie trudeau.jpg

Annie's passion for dance was first well demonstrated when she chose her career as a dance teacher and performer over her engineering physics degree's possibilities. She also trained as a competing artistic gymnast when she was a teenager. She is a co-founder and co-owner of Studio 88-SWING in Montreal (Canada) where she has taught swing since 2001. As the artistic director, she also manages and dances in the Montreal Swinging Air Force dance performance troupe, which has been International Lindy Hop Champions in 2010-11 and 2014 and Canadian Champion 2013-14-15. She is passionate and enthusiastic as a swing dancer, teacher and competitor. Her style joins dynamism and power with a subtleness that is very feminine. She has numerous titles in competition including 6 first place at International Lindy Hop Championships (2008 to 2013 included) in Washington in the Showcase Category and also first place at the European Championships in London in October 2013. She also danced at the Montreal Jazz Fest with the electro-swing band Caravan Palace and was hired as a choreographer for the Cirque du Soleil and lately for the TV Show ''Les Dieux de la Danse''.

Judge / Montréal

ANNIE TRUDEAU

KatiePaolo_BrettAlison.jpg

In 2009, Katie Piselli developed a simultaneous crush on Lindy Hop and this cute guy that grew into a deep love (for both). Her dancing now embodies the energy, freedom of expression, and personal style that she values so much in the jazz era clips and teachers that have inspired her. Coming to Lindy Hop from a professional background in musical theater, Katie loves a good live show and was inevitably drawn to competitions and performances as a form of expression. Her musical dancing won her various awards and her quirky choreography projects (esp. for her local dance team, The Riff) have earned her an artistic voice.

 

More importantly, though, Katie found a calling to share what she is (still) learning about jazz era dances, history and traditions. While she has had the pleasure of teaching nationally and internationally, she’s definitely a “dance mom” in her home scene in Boston. Her career has blossomed through the day-to-day development and teaching of classes for local swing schools, dances, colleges, community groups, and her own experimental school, The Riff Academy.

Judge / Boston

KATIE PISELLI

27747885_1714857665202144_73823505761239

A dancer reputed for his energy, J-P has been dancing since he was 10. He jump started his career through competition, which equipped him with a well-trained eye when time comes to give competitors his OUI!

Judge / Toulouse

JEAN-PHILIPPE DELORT

jsleblanc.jpg

An amazing clarinet player and the soul behind bands such as Masson Stomp and the Early Jazz Band, JS is there to ask the quintessential question: "OK these folks are doing cool stuff, but does it SWING?"

Judge / Montréal

JEAN-SÉBAStien LEBLANC

genstlo.jpg

For most, "Gen St-Lo" doesn't need any kind of introduction. A decorated dancer, an international teacher, and organizer of the celebrated Montreal Swing Riot, she is the embodiment of that elusive "spirit" of swing.

Judge / Montréal

GENEVIEVE ST-LAURENT

© 2019 5-6-7 OUI. 

Nos juges

anais sekine.jpg

Dans les dernières années, Anaïs est devenue une force centrale derrière la scène de Lindy Hop montréalaise. Son focus sur l'improvisation et l'expression de soi authentique lui a mérité le respect et la reconnaissance de la communauté. En tout premier lieu accro aux rythmes et au langage des claquettes voilà 10 ans, elle a ensuite ressenti une profonde passion pour le Lindy Hop. Plongée dans un processus sans fin d'exploration de nouvelles idées, Anaïs se concentre surtout sur la compréhension du langage jazz, de sa tradition et son historique culturelle. Anaïs est une membre des Northern Lights, fondatrice du W Project et le Cat's Club Chorus Line, deux troupes jazz authentiques composées uniquement de femmes. Avec plusieurs titres à son actif en danse solo, de couple et d'équipes, elle a aussi gagné le populaire battle du New Orleans Showdown avec Alain Fragman. Elle a été une des panélistes invitées à la conférence du Frankie100 Jazz Dance Research à New York en 2014. Anaïs enseigne régulièrement à l'école de danse Cat's Corner à Montréal. Son approche pédagogique vise à éveiller la capacité de chaque danseur à trouver sa présence, pleine et unique. Elle dévoue sa recherche académique à étudier les politiques culturelles du Lindy Hop aujourd'hui.

Juge / Montréal

ANAIS SEKINE

Caitlin_edited.jpg

Caitlin est une membre fondatrice des Minnie's Moochers - la troupe adolescente, récipiendaire de plusieurs prix, de Ithaca (NY) qui a aidé à redéfinir l'ère moderne du Lindy Hop. Depuis ses débuts avec les Moochers et les American Lindy Hop Championships de 198, Caitlin a enseigné à travers le monde et a apparu dans les médias, incluant une performance avec Fall Out Boy! Une pionnière dans la création d'une communauté forte de profs féminines, elle place aussi une grande importance sur la santé mentale. Récemment, Caitlin s'est diversifiée avec son orchestre jazz the Sugar Foot Stompers et, deux décennies plus tard, elle demeure une instructrice et juge en demande.

Juge / Toronto

CAITLIN WELLMAN

annie trudeau.jpg

La passion d'Annie pour la danse a été en premier lieu fortement démontrée par lorsqu'elle a choisi une carrière en Lindy Hop plutôt qu'en ingénierie physique, après s'être dans son adolescence lancée en gymnastique artistique. Elle est co-fondatrice et co-propriétaire du Studio 88 Swing à Montréal, où elle enseigne depuis 2001. En tant que directrice artistique de la Swinging Air Force, champions internationaux de Lindy Hop en 2010-11 et 2014, et champions canadiens de 2013 à 2015. Une danseuse et instructrice passionnée et enthousiaste, son style dynamique et puissant se marie à une subtilité tout à fait féminine. Elle a plusieurs titres à son actif, incluant six premières places en Showcase au International Lindy Hop Championships, et une première place aux European Swing Dance Championships en 2013. Elle a également dansé au Festival de Jazz de Montréal avec l'orchestre électro-swing Caravan Palace, et a été chorégraphe pour le Cirque du Soleil et les Dieux de la Danse.

Juge / Montréal

ANNIE TRUDEAU

KatiePaolo_BrettAlison.jpg

En 2009, Katie a développé des coups de coeur simultanés pour le Lindy Hop (et un gars vraiment cute) qui ont maturé en grands amours. Sa danse énergique, ancrée dans la liberté d'expression, est inspirée fortement des clips vintage et des professeurs qui l'ont motivée. Forte de son expérience en théâtre musical, Katie adore l'aspect live des performances, et a été inévitablement attirée par les compétitions et les performances comme forme d'expression. Ses projets chorégraphiques souvent hors-normes (espécialement avec sa troupe locale the Riff) illustrent son talent artistique, et lui ont aussi apporté plusieurs prix, tout comme sa danse plus improvisationnelle!

De façon plus importante, Katie a trouvé sa vocation: partager et apprendre les danses de l'ère jazz, ainsi que son histoire et ses traditions. Bien qu'elle ait enseigné aux échelons nationaux et internationaux, c'est dans sa scène locale de Boston qu'elle s'épanouit en tant que "maman swing". Sa carrière continue de fleurir dans le développement et l'enseignement de cours pour les écoles locales de swing, les soirées de danse, les collège et les groupes communautaires, ainsi que sa propre école expérimentale the Riff Academy.

Juge / Boston

KATIE PISELLI

27747885_1714857665202144_73823505761239

Danseur réputé pour son énergie, c'est à 10 ans que Jean-Philippe tombe sous le charme de la danse.

Il démarre sa carrière en passant par la compétition, ce qui lui confère un regard entrainé et rigoureux lorsqu'il doit mettre son expérience à profit et choisir de quel côté ira son OUI !  

Juge / Toulouse

JEAN-PHILIPPE DELORT

jsleblanc.jpg

Clarinettiste jazz de carrière et âme des orchestres montréalais Masson Stomp et Early Jazz Band, Jean-Seb est là pour se poser la question: "OK, c'est cool ce que ces danseur.es font... mais est-ce que ça SWING?"

Juge / Montréal

JEAN-SÉBAStien LEBLANC

genstlo.jpg

La réputation de "Gen St-Lo" n'est plus à faire. Danseuse décorée, prof internationale, organisatrice du Montreal Swing Riot, elle personnifie l'essence même du fameux "spirit".

Juge / Montréal

GENEVIEVE ST-LAURENT